(02) 9877 0266


Suite 303, Level 3, 51 Rawson Street, Epping 2121

Show in maps


Hawkesbury-Hillls Student Leadership Programme Heading To Uluru

9 Aug 2016

Member for Hawkesbury Dominic Perrottet MP has welcomed the 2016 theme for the International Day of the World’s Indigenous Peoples, commemorated on August 9. This year’s theme is devoted to the right to education.

Mr Perrottet today announced that the 2016 Hawkesbury-Hills Student Leadership Programme will culminate in a week-long service project working with the students and staff at Nyangatjatara College’s campuses in Yulara and Docker River in the Northern Territory.

Student Leadership Programme participants, from high schools in Hawkesbury and The Hills, will undertake the service project instead of attending Schoolies Week, and will assist with painting, gardening and general maintenance around the Northern Territory campuses.

Nyangatjatara College is the only secondary education provider in the Northern Territory south of Alice Springs. The College’s aim is to have every child across the three remote communities attending school and learning every day.

“I recently visited Nyangatjatjara College and the staff’s care and dedication to their students was clear in everything they do,” Mr Perrottet said.

“I am excited about the opportunity for all involved to connect and learn from each other.  This is our small contribution to a school which, against significant odds, is educating Indigenous children to give them the best opportunities in life.

“It is my hope that as a result of this Programme, each and every one of the participants will become a passionate advocate and champion of Indigenous success.”

As part of the Programme, participants also attend a series of mentoring events hosted by leaders who have made significant contributions to the Australian community.

This year’s Patron of the Programme is Victoria Cross recipient Corporal Mark Donaldson.  Mentors include Virgin Australia CEO John Borghetti, former Governor of NSW Her Excellency Professor The Honourable Dame Marie Bashir, and Commonwealth Bank CEO Ian Narev.  

Share this article: